The City of Red Deer recognized citizens at the Mayor’s Recognition Awards on June 19.

The annual awards thank residents for their significant contributions to the community.   

"Red Deer is exceptional because of the spirit, generosity, and dedication to volunteerism displayed by our citizens. Our community flourishes thanks to those who consistently go above and beyond to make a difference,” said Mayor Ken Johnston. “It's a privilege for council and I to recognize and celebrate these remarkable individuals and groups who shape our city.”  

This year, the Mayor’s Special Award was presented to the Donald and Lacey families in recognition of their philanthropy, volunteerism, and community-building efforts in central Alberta.  

“This group truly exemplifies the spirit of philanthropy, volunteerism, and community building in Red Deer and central Alberta. Led by the late Jack Donald and his wife, Joan, the Donald’s unwavering dedication to community service and giving back has touched countless lives throughout the community,” the City of Red Deer website said. “The Donald and Lacey families truly embody the spirit of community service and the values of compassion and empathy. Their collective efforts have enriched the lives of countless individuals in Red Deer and Central Alberta.”  

In addition to the Mayor’s Special Awards, 24 groups and individuals were honoured in the Fine and Performing Arts, Distinguished Voluntary Service, and Community Builder award categories.   

The Fine and Performing Arts award category recognizes individuals and groups who have gained national or international acceptance or recognition for outstanding achievement in the arts.   

This year, Dr. James Bicigo and Alexane Best, Éva Best, Kaitlyn Rumohr, and Hazel Stapley of Team Canada Dance received the award.   

Individuals who received the Distinguished Voluntary Service award include Howard Barker, Amanda Blair, Valdene Callin, Lori Cartwright, Don George, Kim Jeske, George Meston, Arun Mishra, Irene Sisson, Esther Smith, Irene Wells, Robert Winchell, and Martha Winchell.

Jodi Dore and Melanie Timms of the Bariatric Clinic Peer Support Group, and Lynne Entz and Brent Young of the Red Deer Curling Junior Program received the volunteer group award.  

The Community Builder Award recognizes outstanding individuals or groups who have demonstrated special or unique qualities and have made a difference in the community through leadership, dedication, innovation, and creativity.   

This year, Gerald Kress, Hoang Le, Robin McKay, Dr. Love Nwigwe, and Jen Underwood received the Community Builder Award.  

Award recipients are selected by the Mayor’s Recognition Awards Committee, while the Mayor’s Special Award recipient is selected by the Mayor. 



**With information provided by the City of Red Deer.