Two teachers from Red Deer Catholic Regional School division have been selected as finalists for the 2023 Edwin Parr Awards.  

Mitchell Gaumont, a teacher from St. Gregory the Great School and Macailee Finnigan, a teacher from St. Francis Assisi Middle School were selected.  

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award recognizes first-year teachers from across the province. The teacher award established in 1964 is named in honour of Edwin Parr a former president of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association (ASBA). 

Finigan was nominated for her professionalism, dedication, and ability to connect with students.  

“Whether in the classroom, during collaboration meetings, coaching, or supervising at extracurricular events, Mitchell displays excellent leadership and relationship-building skills throughout our entire school community. His classroom has quickly become the hub of the middle school wing, where students gather during non-instructional time to socialize, catch-up on missed work or receive additional support if needed,” said Principal, Rose McQuay at St. Gregory the Great Catholic School. “Mitchell has a remarkable career ahead of him and we wish him all the best through the next stage of this exciting process.” 

Six Edwin Parr Award winners will be recognized by the ASBA in the fall.