At the  Alberta School Boards' Association Fall General Meeting in November, the Wolf Creek Public Schools' SRO (School Resources Program) received the ASBA Zone 4 Friends of Education Award.

There to accept the award was Community Peace Officer Dave Lahucik; WCPS Superintendent Tim De Ruyck; WCPS Board Chair Luci Henry; Const. Michelle Grovet; and Const. Lenny Wells.

The SROs play a pivotal role in encouraging positive and healthy recreational activities for children and youth. Their engagement ranges from addressing critical issues like bullying and cyberbullying to imparting essential knowledge about topics such as vaping, drugs, personal boundaries, and traffic laws.

They also serve as mentors, role models and forge vital relationships with students.