The Lacombe and District Family and Community Support Services (FCSS) the City of Lacombe, and community partners celebrated volunteers in the community during the Volunteer of the Year Awards on April 18.  

The awards were a night dedicated to honouring individuals who have served as the heartbeat of the community and recognizing the contributions they have made.      

Volunteer of the Year Awards were given to the following people:  


Leaders of Tomorrow Ages 12 – 14  

Kora Johnson for assisting in aerial class at Dancer’s Edge Studio in Lacombe since the beginning of September 2023.   

She assists classes anywhere from 1-3 hours a week. She has been an amazing assistant to dancers aged six to 10 years old.   

She volunteers to help demonstrate moves to the younger students, teach tricks, and help with any other things she is asked to do.  

The nominees were Chloe Kristensen, Alexis Law, and Emerson Fauria.  


Leaders of Tomorrow Ages 15 - 18  

Rowan Verma for her teen mentoring work.   

Verma has been a volunteer with BBBS for a little over a year and has had two matches.   

She is extremely dedicated to her mentoring relationships and is committed to not only making a difference in the lives of her mentees but in her community as well.  

The nominees were Wade Zobell, Melena Bowman, Skye Barns, and Aleeya Metro.  


Adult Volunteer of the Year  

Darcy Stingel for his volunteer work with various community organizations.  

He has served with the Lacombe Kinsmen for more than a decade, volunteers with the Team Jigger Foundation, and has been a true Lacombe Ambassador his entire adult life.   

Born and raised in Lacombe, Stingel has used his former radio and MC talents to support and give his time to countless not-for-profit groups and community organizations.   

He is a former mentor with Lacombe BBBS, volunteered with FCSS Meals on Wheels, and more. He's keen to see Lacombe grow and flourish, but most importantly he cares about the people who call Lacombe home and truly looks for the good in the community.   

Stingel is described as a true Lacombe legend.  

The nominees were Sherry Vink, Candice Kikstra, Ashley Klessens, Rory Whitbread, Shannon Bruns, Jackson Pilote, Renee Spelt, Alison Stangeland, Alvin Peck, and Kim Willington.  


Senior Volunteer of the Year  

Donna Head for her advocacy work for over a decade.   

Head is described as a pleasure to be around, and always willing to step up to the plate no matter what is asked of her. Her caring, compassionate, and kind nature is a comfort to clients.   

Head has over 27,000 volunteer hours with Lacombe Victim Services over the course of 10 years.   

She is an active part of the community and volunteers on other local boards.   

The nominees were Dwayne Campbell, Peter Bouwsema, Barbara Lieurance, George Badger, Judy Lucht, Betty Tol, Debbi Gallant, and LeRee Proud.  


Business Corporate Volunteerism  

Lacombe Ford for supporting Lacombe Victim Services, through community events such as BBQs, and a silent auction.   

The nominees were Cilantro & Chive, Don and Tammy Derowin (Reds Source for Sports), 5024 General Store, and Stingel Contracting.  


Volunteer of the Year Committee Members Special Recognition  

The committee gave special recognition to the Echo Food Rescue which works to support families and individuals in the community by fostering food security.   

Volunteers donate their time and resources to make sure Lacombe and the area is fed.