With the dry conditions, counties across Central Alberta have issued fire restrictions.  

Here is a list of fire restrictions or bans: 


County of Wetaskiwin 

The County of Wetaskiwin is under a total fire ban. 

Under the ban, no outdoor fires are allowed, including open burning, fires contained to burn barrels, firepits, charcoal barbecues, and fireworks.  

All fire permits are suspended, and no new ones will be issued for the ban.  

Residents can use cooking and heating appliances, including barbecues, firepits and patio heaters, that are fueled by liquid fuel such as propane or natural gas. 


Ponoka-Ponoka County-Summer Village of Parkland Beach-Rimbey 

A fire restriction is in place. All active fire permits are suspended, and new permits won’t be issued until conditions improve.  

At this time the following is allowed but may also be affected: 

  • Backyard fire pits with a mesh screen 

  • Barbeques (propane/charcoal briquette) and smokers 

  • Gas and liquid powered appliances (stoves, lanterns and propane fire rings) 


Red Deer County  

A fire restriction is in effect.  

The ignition of all new outdoor fires within the boundaries of Red Deer County are prohibited, and no new fire permits will be issued. 

The fire restriction does not apply to: 

  • Fires which are contained within cooking and heating appliances and which are fueled by fluids, gases, or wood pellets 

  • Fires contained within industrial facilities for operational purposes 

  • Safe acceptable fire pits and enclosed incinerators 

  • Gas/propane fueled fire pits/stoves/ Barbeques 

  • Catalytic or infrared-style heaters 


Mountain View County  

Mountain View County is under a fire restriction.  

All fire and firework permits have been cancelled under the restriction.  

The following is still permitted: 

  • Barbeques 

  • Fires in an acceptable fireplace or fire pit as defined by Mountain View County Fire Bylaw 

  • Burning contained within an acceptable Burning Barrel 

  • Fire Services training 

  • Fires fueled by compressed gas 

  • Recreational Fires 


Clearwater County  

A fire restriction is in effect for Clearwater County. 

Under the restriction, all provincial permits will be suspended, and new permits will not be issued until the conditions improve. 

All outdoor wood fires are banned on public lands, including backcountry and random camping, all outdoor wood/brush pile fires on private land, and the use of fireworks are prohibited.  

What’s still permitted:  

  • Safe wood campfires are allowed on private land and within provincial campgrounds if they are inside an engineered campfire ring 

  • Backyard fire pits 

  • Charcoal briquette barbeques 

  • Gas and liquid powered appliances (stoves, lanterns, and propane fire rings) 

  • Open flame oil devices (turkey deep fryers and tiki torches) 

  • Indoor wood fires (such as inside a facility, building, tent, or RV) and contained within a device with a chimney and spark arrestor 

  • Cooking, warming, and lighting devices – all devices must be CSA approved and used per the manufacturer’s standards 

Users are still responsible for the care and attendance of all devices and should reduce their use during fire restrictions and bans. Approved activities or devices will not prevent prosecution or litigation if the user or device starts a wildfire. 


County of Stettler  

The County of Stettler is under a fire restriction.  

No new permits will be issued. 

What’s permitted:  

  • Essential burning in incinerators that are constructed of non-combustible material that have a tight-fitting metal mesh screen  

  • Backyard fire fits, and safe wood campfires 

  • Portable propane fire pits, gas or propane stoves and barbeques 


For more information on fire restrictions and bans, click here