École Lacombe Junior High School (ÉLJHS) teacher William Langille has been nominated for the Edwin Parr Award for the 2023/24 school year.  

Langille obtained a Bachelor of Education Middle Years with Distinction from Red Deer Polytechnic and the University of Alberta, and now his teaching spans from Grade 9 English Language Arts to Social Studies, to specialized electives in creative writing, robotics, leadership, and study skills.  

“William's innovative teaching methods and his unwavering commitment to student success exemplify the qualities we seek in educators,” Wolf Creek Public Schools Superintendent Tim De Ruyck said. “His ability to inspire a love of learning in his students is precisely what the Edwin Parr Award stands for."  

Langille is an integral part of the community, as he has served as the GSA staff liaison and club leader, a curling and cross-country coach, and a board member for the Mary C. Moore Public Library.  

"It was in a Lacombe Junior High desk that I decided to become a teacher. Being able to teach in those halls today is an immense honour. My year so far has focused on connecting with students — either in the classroom or on the cross country and curling teams,” Langille said. “The chance to see students learn and grow means every day is rewarding to no measure. As I build relationships with students, I am also grateful to build relationships with an incredible community of teachers who inspire and uplift me. I’m so lucky to return in this ‘full circle’ way.”   

The Edwin Parr Award is annually given to one first-year teacher in each zone of the Alberta School Board Association, who has demonstrated excellence in teaching.   

Each school division nominates one candidate, and a committee will select one of the candidates to receive the award for the zone.